Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Win a copy of The Adventures of Merrick the Viking

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those items that I think my readers will enjoy. Affiliate links are present.



The Adventures of Merrick the Viking


A young teenage Viking boy named Merrick must escape his Scandinavian homeland and ends up on a historic journey of discovering new lands while becoming a great sailor along the way he falls in love to a young Irish girl and has to defend her and her village along the sea.


Available for Kindle and in Paperback


Enter the Amazon giveaway!

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

The Last Alignment: Cry of the Scorpions

I was compensated for sharing this post via Fiverr. I only share those books that I think will interest my readers. Affiliate links present within this post.



"If you are looking for a story to engage a male who is not likely to pick up a book on his own, this story is it! It has so much energy and action that all readers will be swept into this magical world and not want to stop reading until they've gotten to the last page." -Janelle Fila for Readers' Favorite


Hektor awoke standing naked and confused in the heart of a large crater.

Where was he?

Who was he?

But as his mind recovered and became clearer, memories started flooding back to him and reality set in; it’s not over.

Awbrey, Hudson, Androse, Zander, and Natalye have lived their entire lives knowing nothing of their families histories. Typical of most teenagers, right? However, when their parents and grandparents round them up and bring them to Arizona to explain to them why they are all “different,” emotions run high, and with teenagers, sentiment- filled expressions of betrayal and fear are never pretty.

Awbrey and Hudson are best friends. That is the only preexisting relationship between them. As they wait to be fetched by Hektor, a man that they’ve never even heard of, they discover that regardless of their personal feelings toward each other, their lives are so deeply entangled that they have no choice but to try and get along. For if they don’t pull it together, they as well as those closest to them won’t survive what is to come.



Buy links


About Nathaniel Stewart

Nathaniel Stewart is a Maryland native who is currently residing in North Carolina. He earned his Bachelors of Arts in English with a Concentration in Creative Writing and a Minor in Art & Design. He has been writing since the age of twelve, and is currently working on the third installment of his Young Adult/Fantasy series, "The Last Alignment."

Monday, June 19, 2017

Release Day! Full Count (Westland University Series) by Lynn Stevens

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this book. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my audience. Affiliate links within.



Full Count


Anyone who says they're having the worst day hasn't met me. My girlfriend cheated, I blew out my knee, and probably trashed my chance of going pro. All in one day. Then my jerk professor tells I'm almost on academic probation.

Awesome. Now I get to find a tutor.

Enter Mallory Fine, quiet, a little intense, and my kind of gorgeous. Who also happens to hate baseball and any guy who plays it.

Hello, curiosity.

I tell myself this will be nothing more than a tutoring relationship. I'm a liar. I want this girl. How hard can her secrets be to unravel? It might be a challenge, but so is getting back on the ball field and I'm determined to make that happen—no matter the cost.

Buy links

Read an interview with the author here.




About Lynn Stevens:


Lynn Stevens flunked out of college writing her first novel. Yes, she still has it and no, you can't read it. Surprisingly, she graduated with honors at her third school. A former farm girl turned city slicker, Lynn lives in the Midwest where she drinks coffee she can't pronounce and sips tea when she's out of coffee. When she's out of both, just stay away

Sunday, June 11, 2017

Review of Donut Poison (A Killer Delights Cozy Mystery) by Agatha Baker



Donut Poison


After the whole debacle of the 'Plum Cake Murder' case, beautiful Cassandra Hafonsky's life was finally beginning to return to normal. Her relationship with the longtime love of her life Greg was basically back to being as blissfully serene as it was before, and her coffee shop 'Cassie's Breakfast Delights’ was absolutely booming with business.

So, what could possibly go wrong at this point, one might ask? Hmmm, perhaps they should have refrained from uttering such a question.

On one fateful night, Cassie is invited over to locally famous Dr. Lipowitz's celebratory party for his award winning recognition in "Scientific Excellence." Other guests include her best friend Dee, her boyfriend Randall, Cassie's fiancé Greg, Lipowit'z ex wife Samantha, his top nurse Peggy, and his main assistant Victoria.

Long story short, fine champagne being drunk and excellent conversation being had weren't the only activities that transpired on this occasion. Someone was also tragically murdered... Can you say deja vu?

Now, Cassie must spring into action, and race against the clock to solve yet another grisly murder case before her or one of her friends is tossed into the proverbial frying fan!!

Can she work her unique magic again?




**My thoughts**

I was perusing the free Kindle downloads again the other day, when to my delight I saw that this book was on the list. I thought the first book in the series was okay, and usually second books are better, so why not? Summer is just starting and I hope to have plenty of time to just relax and get in some reading while enjoying the fresh air. So on a lazy Sunday afternoon, while enjoying the breeze on my front porch, I decided to give it a shot.

My first honest reaction? Was this actually the same author who had written the first one? The characters and setting were somewhat familiar. But this installment in the series felt totally rushed and like an editor hadn't had a chance to touch it.

The banter between Cassie and her fiance Greg seemed quite juvenile. Then this detective from Greg's past appears, because another one of Cassie's pastries has killed someone they know. (It's even the same poison as in the first book! Which I don't understand.) Greg and Lorenzo apparently have some kind of a history and have a long, drawn-out pissing match that got pretty annoying. I haven't seen men that age carry on that way. Maybe in college, but not at their age.

The couple is pulled in for questioning and a flashback of sorts takes place. I had a hard time focusing on the beginning of the party flashback because I couldn't get past the fact that Cassie had brought her cat with them to the doctor's party. Who brings their pet cat to a party? And if Cassie, Greg, and Dee weren't really acquainted with the doctor, why were they at his party? Most people don't hang out with their doctors socially, though I know it can happen. I am friends with one of mine, actually. It was all just quite confusing, and the whole thing with Dee's illness and lack of taking her meds popped up again, still feeling like it didn't belong in there.

Cassie goes on her own investigation to try to figure out whodunnit again, and behaves in a relatively typical amateur sleuth fashion. I was also a bit confused by her newfound friend in the secretary at the police precinct, because I had a hard time believing someone in that position would be willing to give up what I thought would be confidential information, especially just for some pastries. A lot of people are willing to give up a lot of goods for sweets.

And this time around, in this book, I did notice the frequency with which the characters are saying "Haha" in their speech. That works well in a text message, email, or social media, when you don't have an emoji at your fingertips to demonstrate that you think something is funny. It falls short in a book when you can describe characters' reactions by showing the story. This falls under telling, and not in the right way. There were also too many mistakes with homonyms and cliches that were clearly not intentional to demonstrate part of a character's personality.

The ending seemed a bit rushed to me. There is also another twist that is loosely related to the story thus far that shows more installments of this series are likely to happen. I think this plot and series definitely has some potential. But this book disappointed me. I would love to see a heavy dose of editing on this one and then recommend it for the future, to really polish this series, because again, I think there is some potential here. I could only give this one two stars.

Review of Plum Cake Murder (Killer Delights Cozy Mystery Book 1) by Agatha Baker




Plum Cake Murder


In the small town of Tapelio, Cassandra Hafonsky was a woman fulfilling her dreams, and thriving in every aspect of life. She was a modern day success no doubt about it. This lady had a loving fiancee who catered to her every need, a best friend named Dee who always had her back no matter what, and a consistently busy coffee shop she aptly named, 'Cassie's Breakfast Delight's.' Nothing could possibly derail her picture perfect existence right? Wrong!! Insert into the equation famous food critic, Wendy Fashool, who was unexpectedly coming to give her critique of Cassie's shop. Ms. Fashool was as brutal and heartless as they came when handing out her opinionated reviews of food establishments.

Long story short, she ends up ordering Cassie's best dish the 'plum cake delight.' BIG mistake!! Who knew this delectable dessert was literally to DIE for?!?

Now, Cassie must put to use her crime solving skills in order to acquit herself from the murder charge being hung over her head by the local police department.

Does Cassie have the sleuthing skills necessary to earn back her freedom, and save her life in the process?




**My thoughts**

I'm a sucker for a good cozy mystery, and I am especially fond of the ones that have food as a part of the storyline, because they often include some amazing recipes. So when I saw this available as a limited-time free Kindle download, I knew I had to jump on it.

The story has some promise when it starts out. Cassie is the owner of a delightful sweets shop in her small town. She has a devoted lifelong best friend named Dee and a devoted fiance in Greg. Dee has a crazy crush on a guy named Randall, a union that Cassie deftly facilitates to get started. Dee also seems to be suffering from some kind of a medical condition, as her doctor, Dr. Leibowitz, pops into the shop to admonish her for not taking her meds. 

I felt like the doctor's behavior was rather unprofessional and that there was as significant part of Dee's story that needed to be told and isn't. Otherwise, this little exchange isn't quite necessary in this book. And then the relationship between Dee and Randall kind of goes from 0 to 60 overnight, though the way their behavior was described, I would have thought that it had been a few days.

Things start to heat up when her plum cake gets some attention. Detective Klaus is a huge fan. And then the famed food critic Wendy Fashool makes plans to come in to review the place. When Wendy shows up dead shortly after leaving Cassie's Breakfast Delights, Cassie becomes the primary suspect, and extremely determined to find out the truth.

From that point on, the story takes some bizarre twists and turns until Cassie finally solves whodunnit in the Plum Cake Murder. It's a strange story, and yet shows some promise from this first-time author.  I did it in a relaxing afternoon on my front porch. I give it three stars.




Review of Honeysuckle Homicide (Trash-to-Treasure Crafting Mystery Book 2) by Rose Pressey



Honeysuckle Homicide


Raelynn Pendleton inherited a big Victorian house that she intends to decorate on a budget with her trash-to-treasure creations. Her plans are hindered when her no-good, cheating ex-husband Ross Perkins comes back into her life. Within hours of his return, Ross has pulled Raelynn into a murder investigation.

Handsome Sheriff Kent Klein thinks Ross is guilty as charged and warns Raelynn to stay away from him. But Ross has convinced the town of Honeysuckle, Kentucky that Raelynn murdered the successful local realtor Luke Lexington. Raelynn must prove her innocence or her days of Dumpster-Diving will be over.




**My thoughts**

I am ashamed to admit that I think this is my first Rose Pressey book ever. She is an author whose name has been regularly shared within my circles and I have downloaded a few of her books on free offer or on special sale price, but haven't yet read them. I happened to catch this book under the freebies section on the Amazon bestseller list the other day and downloaded it. I was in the mood for a fun cozy mystery on this glorious summer day, so I chose this one. I'm glad I did.

It is the second book in the series, but I felt like I was able to follow along even without having read the first book. Raelynn is telling the story, so you know that she inherited her Victorian house from an elderly woman and turned it into an inn while restarting her life after her husband cheated on her. Then she had problems with the local people because a schoolteacher was murdered in her backyard and she was a suspect. There are allusions to who the murderer was, but the full identity is never disclosed. I liked that, because I am pretty sure I am going to go back and get the first book to read.

She stumbles upon the murder of a local real estate agent after her POS ex-husband decides to drop into town. She gets totally sucked into the situation and is determined to clear her name, as well as figure out who is committing all of these murders in this otherwise decent small town. She jokes that she is an amateur sleuth, based on all of the mysteries that she has read, and does carry on in an amateur fashion. (Can I just say, stop picking up evidence with your bare fingers, woman!!)

She is also conveniently dating the local sheriff, which presents its own set of wrinkles in the story. But she seems content to have moved on to this new relationship and it serves her well. I just wish he would have gotten after her more about her secret sleuthing practices!

Raelynn is actually an enjoyable heroine compared to many of the other ones out there. I loved her enthusiasm for her crafting, although I cannot imagine doing all of the dumpster diving. It did make really want to work on some of my own pieces. (Spoiler: Though I have some materials ready to go on my porch, I have been lazy all day.) I really enjoyed her and her best friend Claire Ann. Kent seems like a worthy boyfriend. I wanted to smack Russ, the ex, and all of his family and close friends.

I did briefly feel like I was confusing characters for a little bit because so many of them had names that started with C, but then was able to get them all straightened out.

Pressey is also a talented writer, compared to many of the other authors within this genre today. I love to take a gamble  on the free books out there to help me discover new authors and series. Some are good and others are ... well, not.

Is this one of the greatest cozy mysteries ever written? Not exactly. But it's a perfect read when you're lounging around and want a good escape for an afternoon. I am definitely going to check out the first book in the series, as well as some of Pressey's other titles.

Overall, I give it four stars.


http://amzn.to/2srzvtK

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Watch the trailer for Love Brings Change: Getting the Love You Want From the One You're With by Eisha Coutee

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books which I feel may interest my readers. Affiliate links are present, proceeds from which help me to maintain my sites.



Love Brings Change


Love Brings Change is an inspirational read based on Eisha Coutee's Love Brings Change blogs. It is simply BlogSpot gumbo for the soul. A refreshing take on relationships and how to get the love you want from the one you're with. Love Brings Change gives it to you straight, no chaser. Coutee explores the true meaning of love unconditional, and uses personal experience and relatable topics in a way that restores, rekindles, reignites and reveres black love, self love, and personal accountability for the love that we attract into our lives. It takes us on a journey of complete and total transformation of our thoughts and perspectives giving us a new take on compassionate loving. For with transformation, comes change, and change is inevitable, therefore, undoubtedly love...brings...change!



http://amzn.to/2sAE55R






About Eisha Coutee


Eisha Coutee is a California native, born and raised in the Bay area. She has been writing ever since she was able to hold a pen! Alongside of authoring Coutee is a poet, and orator, a mother of three and graduate of California State East Bay University. For more information on Coutee and her upcoming works of arts or workshops visit www.eishacoutee.com!

Author Website: www.eishacoutee.com

Author Facebook page: www.facebook.com/eishacoutee

Monday, June 5, 2017

Gray Zone by Veronica R. Tabares

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I think will appeal to my readers. Affiliate links are also present.



Gray Zone


To become the popular girl she’s always wanted to be, a shy teen starts over at a new school and struggles to come out of her shell as she avoids the brutality of a schoolyard bully and the snarkiness of the online ones.


http://amzn.to/2qXAInH


About Veronica R. Tabares


Veronica R. Tabares, MFA, MLIS, is a passionate award-winning author on a mission to make a positive impact in people's lives through the power of storytelling. Nine books later and she is still fueled by the initial creative spark that started it all. Writing and her love of archaeology aside, Veronica enjoys nothing more than spending quality time with her loved ones who inspire her to be her best version daily.

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

24 Reasons Why I Love You by Melchor Rosario

I received compensation via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those items in which I think my readers may be interested.

24 Reasons Why I Love You


The book is about the kind of love that makes you rediscover who you really are and changes you into a completely different person. It tells you about the best kind of love, that awakens our soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and bring peace to our mind and soul. A collection of million tiny things, lead you to the path of true love. When we start to underestimate little things, we forget the true meaning of love. This is a book that takes you on a journey where you will rediscover the meaning of love and how it truly lies in simple things.

Selflessly, you start to dwell for the likelihood of someone else’s happiness, this is called ethereal love. The book makes you feel like love is a sea where little insignificant things can form tidy and huge waves of bliss and happiness. When you are in love, you are not doing anything on purpose, it is the tidal wave that takes you along and you don’t even know where you are heading. This book is dedicated to all those lovebirds who wish to be in love with their other half madly and for them, love doesn’t depreciate; rather its strength is proportional to the passing time.

www.melchorrosario.com




http://amzn.to/2seRErG



Sunday, May 21, 2017

The Summer of Monsters and Doves by Anne Young

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this book. I only share books that I believe my readers will find interesting.


The Summer of Monsters and Doves


There is a door that no man can open, and no man can shut. It will open tonight. In the summer of 2012, Elle Gaddiyel planned on slipping away to spend some down time at the beach house reading her favorite paranormal romance novels. What this sixteen-year-old beauty didn’t know was how real things were about to get and how dangerous the summer would be for her. The dark forces in her novel bleed into her lovely and perfect world. It will either take over her life or cause her to make a choice and a stand. Elle lives a life of safety and privilege, but unaware she has awoken an appetite for something unnatural. Her once fabulous norm is no longer enough. But it won’t end there. Elle goes from being bored to confused and afraid quickly, making decisions that will alter her life and no one who loves her gets spared the consequences of things that come to pass during The Summer of Monsters and Doves. Silver waves crash upon the shore; her friends witness the fall, human hearts collide one with another. Will a simple kind of love ever be able to overcome the choices made in the season of desire? Becoming a Christian is easy, walking the path is another story.




http://amzn.to/2rnrClM

Monday, May 15, 2017

Read an excerpt from Catfishing (A Romantic Comedy about Online Dating) by Linda West

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books in which I believe my readers will be interested. 



An excerpt from Catfishing:

The snow was deep, and the wind had whipped up. Sable pulled her unfashionable, but warm, black parka closer to her body. Rapido’s was busy as usual. Sable sighed. She climbed the stairs to her little overhead apartment and poured herself a glass of wine. She stared at the computer like an enemy. She would not open it. It only held pain and misery.

But of course, that would have taken good sense, which, since Ben’s declaration that Tiffany wanted him back, had left and flown out the window. She opened her computer, and felt the adrenaline flow through her. Facebook appeared on her screen like a portal to hell.

Sable wanted to go check out Tiffany’s Facebook page to see if Ben had commented on any of her pictures. Sable knew she shouldn’t do this. In any case, this was not a road she should be on. Slippery, treacherous, deadly, and love killing. Love killing for herself, mostly.

She knew she needed back up, so she texted Ann Marie who was closing the restaurant downstairs to check on the bees and come upstairs. Sable took a deep breath, and then despite her best interests, typed Tiffany Histon’s name into the search bar on her Facebook page. 
Suddenly, a vision of perfection popped onto the screen mocking her. There it was; Tiffany Histon’s Facebook page. The perfect place to find out what she was doing, every day. For one thing, she was looking good every day, that was for sure. Sable’s heart sank. She was every man’s dream. An impeccable California blonde, with blue eyes and a tan to die for. Her picture-perfect smile spread across the whole darn page and nearly off her face. Shit. Sable closed her eyes and moaned.

She should have stopped right then and not put herself through hell, but no, that would have taken some sense, some modicum of control. After seeing this Venus of an ex, she was consumed. With one little glance, she had transported herself to crazy land. Sable couldn’t pull herself away. It was like watching a train wreck, or more like she was on the tracks, watching the train coming right at her, and not moving. Stuck and paralyzed with jealousy.




Catfishing: A Romantic Comedy About Dating Online


Cat-Fishing ( To pose as a fake person. To lure or trick a mate online.)

Sable Mancini runs the family restaurant, and is perfectly happy with her simple life in Buffalo. She has a great family, great friends, and a wonderful boyfriend she's about to get engaged to. Although 'Mancini's Pizza and Pasta' is losing business to the new trendy pizza chain across the street, it doesn't compare to the mess that Sable's best friend Ann Marie is having with her love life! No matter who Ann Marie meets online, they end up being someone, or something else. It seems that in the modern world of online dating, that getting catfished is a common pitfall. One night, Sable's stable world suddenly falls apart, when she learns her beloved boyfriend's supermodel ex fiancé wants him back! Tiffany Histon, is a beautiful famous heiress, and Sable is freaked out with jealousy, and afraid he's going to return to her. She goes off the deep end, and comes up with a really stupid idea to stop Tiffany from stealing her man! Together with Ann Marie, they come up with a plan to catfish Tiffany and spy on her via Facebook.

When Tiffany starts to return their fake catfish messages, Sable falls into a trap she can't get out of. She takes off to LA to meet her nemesis and attempt to do damage control, but her whole world turns upside down...She ultimately learns that sometimes, what truly makes you happy, is already in your own back yard.




http://amzn.to/2pdQO0r


About Linda West


Linda West is a number one best selling author on Amazon, and the author of the best selling romance "Christmas Kisses and Cookies." She is also the owner of Morningmayan publishing where they publish books good for the soul.

Hi I'm Linda! Thanks for coming by to check out my books! I'm a mom to a wonderful young son who is the light of my life and keeps reminding me how lucky I am everyday. I was inspired to write my first Christmas novel because I couldn't find one that quite captured the happy go lucky holiday spirit I was looking for - so I wrote my own! I grew up in the snowy winter wonderland of Buffalo, New York which was the the inspiration for the town of Kissing Bridge Mountain in 'Christmas Kisses and Cookies'. After living for years in sunny shallow Los Angeles I learned how valuable family and the Christmas spirit really is.

I have just recently started writing fiction and I hope you enjoy my books as much as I did writing them:))

I am most well know for my work in the science of frequencies and the law of attraction. If you've ever wanted your dreams to come through, but thought only money would make that happen; please come learn about how to manifest anything you want to you with no money, just love!!

I love to help people be happy and achieve love and success. Come on by to Facebook or visit me on youtube as Morningmayan where I have many inspirational and empowering videos that are life changing! I also work full time as an Empowerment and Love Coach at morningmayan.com

Also please write us anytime at MorningMayan@gmail.com our publishing company where we write books that are good for the soul! I'm happy to send you any of my books for a first time reader for free just write and let me know which one you prefer!

Monday, May 8, 2017

Catfishing (A Romantic Comedy About Dating Online) by Linda West

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I think my readers will enjoy. 


Catfishing: A Romantic Comedy About Dating Online


Cat-Fishing ( To pose as a fake person. To lure or trick a mate online.)

Sable Mancini runs the family restaurant, and is perfectly happy with her simple life in Buffalo. She has a great family, great friends, and a wonderful boyfriend she's about to get engaged to. Although 'Mancini's Pizza and Pasta' is losing business to the new trendy pizza chain across the street, it doesn't compare to the mess that Sable's best friend Ann Marie is having with her love life! No matter who Ann Marie meets online, they end up being someone, or something else. It seems that in the modern world of online dating, that getting catfished is a common pitfall. One night, Sable's stable world suddenly falls apart, when she learns her beloved boyfriend's supermodel ex fiancé wants him back! Tiffany Histon, is a beautiful famous heiress, and Sable is freaked out with jealousy, and afraid he's going to return to her. She goes off the deep end, and comes up with a really stupid idea to stop Tiffany from stealing her man! Together with Ann Marie, they come up with a plan to catfish Tiffany and spy on her via Facebook.

When Tiffany starts to return their fake catfish messages, Sable falls into a trap she can't get out of. She takes off to LA to meet her nemesis and attempt to do damage control, but her whole world turns upside down...She ultimately learns that sometimes, what truly makes you happy, is already in your own back yard.


http://amzn.to/2pdQO0r


** Rave Reviews **

"A wonderful journey through the pitfalls of finding love and online dating! I enjoyed it tremendously!" - KindleGoodBooks 
"What an entertaining and fun book! I read it in one sitting!"- Cheryl Patchett 
"I am a big fan of Linda's Kissing Bridge series so I was very excited to find out she had ventured into contemporary romance. I fully enjoyed this book, very unique!" - D. Smithson 
"Simply fantastic and fun. I loved it and I loved Sable and Ann Marie's relationship as best friends." - Romance World




About Linda West


Linda West is a number one best selling author on Amazon, and the author of the best selling romance "Christmas Kisses and Cookies." She is also the owner of Morningmayan publishing where they publish books good for the soul.

Hi I'm Linda! Thanks for coming by to check out my books! I'm a mom to a wonderful young son who is the light of my life and keeps reminding me how lucky I am everyday. I was inspired to write my first Christmas novel because I couldn't find one that quite captured the happy go lucky holiday spirit I was looking for - so I wrote my own! I grew up in the snowy winter wonderland of Buffalo, New York which was the the inspiration for the town of Kissing Bridge Mountain in 'Christmas Kisses and Cookies'. After living for years in sunny shallow Los Angeles I learned how valuable family and the Christmas spirit really is. 

I have just recently started writing fiction and I hope you enjoy my books as much as I did writing them:))
I am most well know for my work in the science of frequencies and the law of attraction. If you've ever wanted your dreams to come through, but thought only money would make that happen; please come learn about how to manifest anything you want to you with no money, just love!!

I love to help people be happy and achieve love and success. Come on by to Facebook or visit me on youtube as Morningmayan where I have many inspirational and empowering videos that are life changing! I also work full time as an Empowerment and Love Coach at morningmayan.com

Also please write us anytime at MorningMayan@gmail.com our publishing company where we write books that are good for the soul! I'm happy to send you any of my books for a first time reader for free just write and let me know which one you prefer!

Monday, May 1, 2017

FREE today 5/1 The Blood: Secrets and Lies by Brandylan James


The Blood: Secrets and Lies


What would you do for love?

Would you lie for it?

Would you die for it?

Would you kill for it?

Would you endure centuries of darkness for just one last chance to change everything, even if you knew it was probably hopeless?

Love is never easy.But in the end, it is all that is worth fighting for ... 


When the first day of senior year finally rolled around in sleepy Croft's Landing, NC, Jules Walker was definitely psyched. Not only was she going to hook up with her best bud and fellow Blud band member, Dylan Croft after the long summer vacation, but more importantly, according to the grapevine, Dylan and Landing High’s resident queen bitch, Amanda Zane were officially over. For some reason, that made Jules’ heart beat just a tad faster. However, before she even had a chance to process, much less address her newly emerging feelings for Dylan, he was already head-over-heels . . . for someone else, and not just anyone else ... for Jules' best friend, and that would be his undoing; in fact, it could prove deadly.

Enter tall, svelte new girl, Madison Janey who barreled into English Lit class in the middle of a discussion on Pride and Prejudice, balancing a schedule in one hand and an attitude in the other. That's when Jules intuitively knew three things for sure: Madison was destined to be her best friend, Dylan was going to fall in love with her, and that, in turn, was going to put them all on a catastrophic collision course.

It didn't take long. From the moment the iconoclastic "Maddie" moved into the Landing’s Inn, aka home-sweet-home to Jules and her single mom, Starr, there were far more questions than answers. Despite Madison’s somewhat fanciful accounts about her family, despite her mysterious disappearances in the late night hours, Jules was content to cut her friend some slack because that’s what best friends did. Amanda Zane, on the other hand, felt no such compunction. To her, Madison Janey said one thing: "competition," and she was bound and determined to expose her as a fake and a liar. That, too, didn't take long, but even when confronted with Amanda’s “proof,” Jules refused to admit what should have been painfully obvious: Madison was hiding something. The pills she found in her friend’s room should have been enough to raise a red flag; not to mention the dried blood stains on her clothes and the way her eyes changed and looked, well . . . not human. Then the mysterious texts started, suggesting that Dylan was in danger. The thing was, Jules really loved Madison . . . as much as she loved Dylan. Even though it hurt like hell to have to watch the two people she cared for the most falling in love, Jules couldn't allow herself to believe anything bad about Madison. It wasn't until she found her friend packing to leave town the night before Blud's big Halloween concert that Jules confronted her, mostly because she knew it would break Dylan’s heart if Madison checked out without so much as a good-bye. Though Madison begged Jules to trust her one last time and tearfully promised to tell her everything – and Dylan as well -- Jules knew in her heart that it was one more lie.

But Croft’s Landing was a town founded on lies and secrets, something both Jules and Dylan would inadvertently discover that same Halloween night: Jules, when she happened upon an old diary in Madison's backpack; Dylan, when his father revealed a horrifying truth about the Crofts.

As the moon turned blood red for the first time in over four hundred years, an ancient curse was about to be unleashed – one that set Madison and Dylan on opposite sides of two powerful families bent on each other’s destruction; one that freed an enigmatic prisoner to exact his revenge on the witch who condemned him for loving her; and one that would ultimately demand one thing: their blood . . . .







http://amzn.to/2kxawyQ


Read an excerpt:
It’s started again. We’re betrayed. They’ve denounced us as witches and now everyone is calling for our blood. They’ve all gone mad. I don’t know if I’ll survive this night or if I’ll ever see Daniel again … 

*** 
As Cassondra glared into her intruder’s cold, steel blue eyes, a tremor rocked her resolve. 
“Where is he, Jaydon? Where is Daniel …? What have you done?!” 
Jaydon Croft raised the gun, his red lips curling into a deadly smirk. 
“Are you ready to die, witch?” 
*** 
According to the village grapevine, Dylan and Amanda Zane were over. That mattered because: first, Amanda was never good enough for him; and secondly because Dylan was Jules’ best friend, and thirdly because … Jules pressed her eyes shut and made a demi-pirouette in the direction of the doorway. She couldn’t allow herself to finish the thought or even acknowledge that there was any more to it. There wasn’t. It was enough to say that Dylan Croft was special, and the real reason Jules could have for looking forward to senior year was that she would have the opportunity to hang out with him more if he was disengaged from Landing High’s resident queen bitch.

Rave reviews!

  • A compelling drama weaving fantasy with history. This is a worthy follow-up to Bram Stoker and the vampire legend. The pace is fast and lively. Well done! - Amazon Customer
  • The character development is authentically relatable. There is an empathy for the psychological introspections that question one's life decisions. The descriptions of time and place are pleasantly bucolic. - Barbara DiVenuto
  • Be forewarned: you will not be able to put this book down. From the start you are inexplicably drawn into the lives of these star crossed (or rather blood crossed) characters. A gripping story with plenty of drama, suspense, intrigue, and romance. A mesmerizing must read! The next "Twilight"! - Michele Landers



About Brandylan James

Brandylan James (aka Joanna Coons Kosloff) is a multi-published writer /creator of television continuing dramas. She created the Harlequin series: Tyler. The Blood is a Young/New Adult romantic fantasy series dealing with the Clare Curse. She writes under the pen names: Joanna Kosloff, Joanna Coons, Dylan Malloy, Brandylan James, Jamie Dylan, Brandon James. She has also authored several dog books and is a member of the Writer’s Guild of America. You can visit her on Facebook and Linked In. Find her on Goodreads.


I was compensated for sharing this post via Fiverr.

Monday, April 24, 2017

The Duke's Rose by Roxie Brandon



The Duke's Rose


The lovely Miss Hale is the governess to Eliza and Edmund, the children of the Duke of Cromwell. She is ready to love them as her own, but her biggest challenge will be their father. Since his wife died, he wants nothing to do with his children. 

Lady Isabella Ingram wants the Duke for selfish reasons and will do everything to manipulate him. Will the innocent Miss Hale win the Duke's heart?


Buy links


About Roxie Brandon


Roxie Brandon is an author of historical and contemporary romance. Her romances range in setting from Medieval times to the Twentieth Century.

She loves walks in the countryside and having afternoon tea with family and friends.

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Author Michelle Alstead on writing After Love Leaves

Afterloveleavesbanner


Today I welcome author Michelle Alstead to Andi's Book Reviews. Her standalone romance After Love Leaves is not your conventional love story, because love is messy and complicated. which has made it even more enticing for readers to devour. Here she shares a bit more about the story.



This is a novel for women who understand that love is messy and complicated. There are no perfect people in After Love Leaves. Just real human beings struggling to overcome their insecurities and find lasting love in the process. Some characters you’ll root for and others you'll want to shake your fist at.

My inspiration to write this novel came from the kind of break up that rocks your soul and leaves you wondering how you didn’t see the train coming before it hit you. That relationship ended with a two-sentence text message that left me confused, heart-broken, and very much alone. After a couple of years passed and I realized that my former significant other was never going to give me that one last conversation that answered all of my questions, I decided to write a fictional novel where the characters get to have the conversation I never had. It gave me a profound sense of closure and peace.

Compared to my other novels, this is my first true romance novel. There is no secondary plot. It’s all about Zoe and Brad. Unlike the other adult novels I’ve written, After Love Leaves is meant to stand-alone and there won’t be a sequel. The character of Brad however, was introduced in Before It’s Done, which is a prequel to After It’s Over. All four of my adult novels take place in the same universe so if you like one, hopefully you’ll read the others and enjoy the stories of the characters that cross over between novels.

I enjoyed writing After Love Leaves more than any of the other novels because I felt the characters were relatable. Zoe struggles with a lot of the same issues we all face. She battles her love of Oreos and simultaneously her disdain for the gym. She wants to find the right guy but has a terrible habit of attracting the Mr. Wrongs of the world. It’s my hope that women will read this novel and be able to commiserate with the difficulties of dating and the struggle to find love and acceptance.



After Love Leaves

AFTER LOVE LEAVES
When Brad Sorenson crossed paths with Zoe O’Loughlin at a high school graduation party, the connection was undeniable. He noticed her when no one else did; she inspired him to want more out of life. But it would be years before they’d meet again…and in the most unlikely of places. Brad was looking for a good time online, not love. But Zoe was so sweet, so kind. Everything about her was perfect—until she fell in love with him. Zoe doesn’t know why Brad left her standing in an airport; he won’t return her calls or texts. With her self-esteem and dreams shattered, she can’t imagine ever loving anyone else. A single phone call changes Brad’s life forever. Now he wants just one thing: to make amends with the only woman that’s ever mattered.



Buy it on Amazon or read for FREE with KU




About Michelle Alstead

MichelleMichelle Alstead is a single, divorced mom of a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder, who tries to promote autism awareness and advocate for gender equality while raising Sheldon Cooper and searching for some semblance of a love life. Michelle has experienced a wide-range of reasons for being dumped by the opposite sex (her favorite reason of all time - "she wasn't crazy enough and crazy girls are so much fun"). She maintains that she is both Irish and Spanish and can bring the "crazy" just as good as the next woman. This author copes with the difficulties of raising her challenging child and failing at love, by eating copious amounts of chocolate, binge watching Netflix late at night, and writing novels about characters who find happy endings. Every great story has a grain of truth. Truth inspires freedom. Michelle has decided to free herself by acknowledging that life can be ugly, brutal, and wickedly unfair. Her stories aren't the typical romances or the standard young adult fare. She seeks to be honest in her storytelling rather than playing it safe. Blending in wasn't much fun anyway.


  pbt150  

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Life Sliding by S. L. Mauldin



Life Sliding


As Gavin’s junior year comes to a close, he faces an inner conflict with his status as the most popular kid in high school. It’s not lost on his father, who sensed for some time that his overly indulged son needs redirection. Making matters worse for Gavin, his dad sends him away for the summer to assist at a camp for children with special needs.

Arriving at camp Life Me Up, Gavin is suddenly forced to dabble in a world less familiar. After his first uncomfortable encounter with a strange girl with multi-colored fingernails, who refuses to waiver his arrogant behavior, Gavin comes face to face with a person from the past, which leaves him uneasy.

Inevitably, three people clash and collide, but when tragedy strikes, they come to an understanding regarding their differences. Becoming a young adult, Gavin faces a summer of harsh lessons in reality. Once he crosses the bridge from a self-inflicted prison to the road to freedom, Gavin and his new friends implement a strategy to stir up the social order when they return to school in the fall.

Because of one jaded person jumping to conclusions, the plan backfires. Will they be able to survive the fallout of what they’ve put into motion? #LifeSliding



Available on Amazon



Midwestern Book Review: 
“Life Sliding” is a compelling read from beginning to end and clearly demonstrates author S. L. Mauldin’s original and exceptionally gifted storytelling talents. While very highly recommended for school and community library YA Fiction collections..."


About S. L. Mauldin

S. L. Mauldin is an optioned screenwriter and the author of the young adult novel Life Sliding and the forthcoming teen fiction novel Always Here. Shannon was born in the suburbs of Atlanta, where he now resides and continues to write books for teens, but stories relatable to readers beyond those turbulent adolescent years. Currently, S. L. Mauldin is preparing a live stage presentation of Life Sliding and is in pre-development of the feature film.


I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post.

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Broken Roots by Michelle Diana Lowe



Broken Roots


After her father's invention earns her family millions, sixteen-year-old Teisha Cole moves from London to Florida. Uprooted from the place she loves, Teisha now lives in a broken home full of secrets and lies.

Following the death of Teisha's grandmother, her fractured family is replanted in rural England, where a kingpin and his clan are laying in wait. What ensues is a dangerous game that brings their house to its knees, as the family's wealth begins to disappear.

When her father develops a mysterious illness, Teisha turns detective to unravel the truth. Escaping onto the streets and stumbling into the foster care system may be her only hope of survival.

Note from author: Italian and Spanish translation editions of Broken Roots will be available soon on Amazon.



Available on Amazon
US / UK / CA

Author Bio - Michelle Diana Lowe


Born in the early 1980s, I grew up relatively poor, within inner-city London. As a kid, I always had a love of words and stories. I was a lonely and somewhat friendless child, but surrounded myself with books for comfort. The local library and classic novels were my best friends, my escapism from a world that did not quite understand me. In spite of my loneliness and humble beginnings, I felt I had a greater purpose in life. God had made me unique and different for a reason.

Being severely bullied at primary school and experiencing family problems aged nine, I dug deep, and found that, tapping into my passion for words and writing, really helped to repair my soul and aided the healing process. Barely ten years old and a voracious reader – reading Judy Blume novels such as – DeenieBlubberTiger Eyes and Are You There God It's Me Margaret?, I decided to pen my very first novel, which was around 30,000 words in length. The deep satisfaction I had when finishing it, told me that I needed, not just wanted, to be a writer. I was born to be one. Inside me, I knew I had important messages to give the world, through the power of the written word. Making this dream of becoming a published author a reality, then became my long-term goal.

In my late teens and early 20s, I studied English Literature with Philosophy at Roehampton University. Whilst doing my Bachelor of Arts degree, I felt inspired by bestselling novelists, Toni Morrison and Zadie Smith. I absorbed and was mesmerised by, their stories and experiences. As my writing style developed, the positive influences of Toni and Zadie, helped infuse culture and society into my creative work.

After graduating from university with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature with Philosophy, I started working as a Children's Centre Administrator in East London, where I support families by signposting and referring them to key services.

It was in January 2015 that my first career break came. I was signed by US Publisher UrbanEdge for my debut novel UnShatter Me. In April 2016 I submitted my second novel Broken Roots to Creativia Publishing and I was signed by this publisher. Broken Roots is my most successful novel to date. Not only was it named one of the Best Indie Books of 2016 on Read Free.ly's list, but it has also been on two Amazon bestsellers lists, on six separate occasions, and has been a bestseller in three different territories, the UK, US and Canada. Furthermore, the Italian and Spanish translation editions of Broken Roots will be available on Amazon very soon.

As an author with urban foundations, I feel I have a commitment to bring more diversity into all my books and into the publishing industry. In my writing, I also have a desire to raise awareness of young mental health and help make a difference in people's lives.

When I am not writing, I love to unwind and relax, by watching period dramas and blockbuster movies. I also enjoy reading books in a variety of genres.


I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post.

Saturday, March 25, 2017

2017 Human Relations Indie Book Awards



2017 Human Relations Indie Book Awards


Information is now available for the 2017 Human Relations Indie Book Awards. The 2017 contest has over 40 indie book categories that include topics related to human relations issues, family relationship issues, children’s books with a human relations focus, poetry human relations books, fiction human relations books and general human relations book categories. There are also several special needs categories included in this year’s contest. April 25th, 2017 deadline is approaching. Visit our website at http://humanrelationsindiebookawards.com to find out more about the contest.


I was compensated for this post via Fiverr.

Monday, March 20, 2017

Lipsticks and Bullets by Fairouz Abdalla



Lipsticks and Bullets


English Literature student Fairouz dreams of a revolution and a Syria free from the rule of the tyrannical Bashar al-Assad and his minions. But revolutions are not so easily achieved, as she realises when her life transforms into a blockbuster movie before her very eyes. Fairouz Abdalla’s diary Lipsticks and Bullets takes us on an exclusive trip into her politically-charged world and among the demonstrators on the historic roads of Old Damascus and Hama. Syria is a dangerous place for an activist ­– and especially for a woman. Forced into making life or death decisions, and faced with losing all she loves, Fairouz must fight not just for a Syrian revolution, but also for the lives of her loved ones, herself, and against the growing nightmare that is ISIS.

This is not only the intimate story of a woman but a Syrian woman who is a powerful witness to the terror and horror wrought by Assad on the lives and souls of Syria’s citizens. A tale of love, bravery, courage, and dedication. Syria's story is her story.


Available on Amazon
US / UK

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share posts that I think may interest my readers.

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Mysterious Attraction by T.J. McAllister



Mysterious Attraction


Emma McPearson was lucky enough to find the love of her life at a young age. After a surprising event, she loses him quicker than she ever would have expected. While Emma is visiting her hometown for the holidays, she deals with the pain of losing her one true love. Along the way, Emma meets someone that will help her cope and change her life forever.


Buy Links

I received compensation via Fiverr for sharing this post.

Monday, March 6, 2017

Review of Survival: Hijacking into Freedom by M. Ben Yanay



Survival: Hijacking Into Freedom


World War II through the eyes of four exceptional heroes

Janus is a Hungarian Jew serving in the Hungarian Army. When his brigade is put to the service of the fleeing German forces, at end of the Second World War, Janus finds himself driving an SS truck under heavy soviet attacks in the Hungarian woods. With his wife and children on his mind, he tries to escape.

An engulfing human drama based on real historical events

In the woods, Janus meets Bob, an Afro-American pilot from the famous all black "Tuskegee Squadron" unit. Bob is shot down at war and captured by a group of Partisans, where he meets Ina, a Russian medical officer who dreams of a new life in America. Against all odds, and despite their different backgrounds, religions and languages, these three uncommon heroes manage to capture a German train locomotive and try to drive it to their freedom.

All the while, Janus's wife, Terry, endures war with their three children, first in the city, and then at the Ghetto of Debrecen, their hometown. After her middle child is murdered, the family is sent to extermination in Auschwitz, but miraculously saved at the last moment.

A remarkable view of World War II read with bated breath

Towards the end of the war, these four stories converge into one unbelievable drama, providing a gripping and multidimensional view of a most significant period in the history of humanity.




**My review**

I love WWII stories. I love watching documentaries and movies and reading stories about the conflicts. So when I saw this book available, I was intrigued, especially because the description sounded like a different kind of story than I had heard before. Then there's also the appeal of a story based on true events.

Terry intrigued me as a Christian woman who converted to Judaism for the love of her life. She clung to her Jewish identity, even though she could have saved herself by revealing her Christian background and reverting to those roots. She also shows incredible strength while struggling for survival in the concentration camp and when losing her son to the evil guards. 

Janus has an especially interesting history, as his story is revealed through flashbacks. He is Jewish but proves to be worth quite a lot to the enemy. I couldn't decide how I felt about Ina. Bob has a very proud heritage with his service with the famous Tuskegee Airmen.

The story is told both in the present tense as the war is coming to an end and through a series of flashbacks. The flashbacks are important to explain how each character came to be where they are today and why they make the decisions that they do. Sometimes I got a little confused during the flashbacks, keeping characters straight. I also felt like they could have been organized a little differently. Perhaps maybe more of an even rotation of points-of-view or character focus?

I loved hearing each character tell their own story.  It did feel like each character was speaking as an Americanized version of themselves. I think the hardest thing for me was everyone referring to Bob and the other black men as African-Americans. I don't believe that term was in wide use back in the 1940s in America, let alone overseas. It was made more popular in the 1980s. I want to say back then, the term coloreds or others were more likely to be used.

There was an air of authenticity with some real terms in the native languages being used, complete with translation. I did love that the author provide translations for these terms and a bit of clarification about certain events or places. I would suggest that any explanation longer than one word would maybe function better as footnotes instead of being in brackets in the text, to facilitate readability. 

Reading this story, I definitely got the feeling that the author was telling a true story, sharing something he had been told many times. When the story is over, he does disclose his connection to the characters in the story. I think he has more of their stories and I would love to hear more of them, or even see this one fleshed out a bit more. I feel like there is so much more to tell! 

So while this book is not one that is going to necessarily be dubbed as a classic, it is definitely an interesting read that is worth checking out, to give you another perspective into how people functioned during the horrible conflict. And without giving away too much, I will just say that the whole story of the train is definitely one I have never heard before and is definitely a unique story that needs to be told!


http://amzn.to/2mfRH5A


About M. Ben Yanay

M. Ben Yanay is an Israeli journalist and author.

He was born in Hungary in 1940 and survived the holocaust as a child, arriving in Israel with his parents in 1948.

As an adult, he lived for a few years on a Kibbutz, later becoming the editor of an economic journal and working as a journalist for Associated Press in Israel as well as the Jerusalem Post. 

He studied history and philosophy at Ben-Gurion University.

This is his forth book. Three of his other books have been published in Israel in Hebrew:

  • Mushrooms and Octopuses - Nuclear terror thriller. Published by "Masada", 1979.
  • Secrets of the Canaa-idim - Science fiction for young adults. Published by "Masada", 1980.
  • Hast Thou Killed - and also Taken Possession? - Cold blooded murder account of the Ya'ari-Granot trial. Published by "Hotam", 1990.

Other of his short stories have also been published in various journals.